Tags

In my quest to become a full-fledged librarian I’m working on an assignment to play around in Newsvine. It’s a website where people can share and create news articles to share with others in their “nations.” I’m not at all enjoying this social media platform. When you join all you’ll see is political points of view, and that really isn’t my cup of tea. A few of my classmates were kicked out of Newsvine and they haven’t been told what they did wrong. I’m very hesitant to try to do anything including comment on other’s articles. Many nations are gated and require acceptance to be admitted and even though I signed up a couple of weeks ago, I’m still waiting for acceptance so it’s open nations for me with subject mater I have very little interest in. One article I looked at simply said, “I liked her reaction” and connected to the actual article to see what the poster was talking about. I think it’s safe to say that as soon as this semester is over I will be removing my account.

I wanted to look at other people’s comments to see how people are responding and tagging but many don’t seem to be leaving comments. Tags related to a post are very minimal, which I’m sure is part of the point of the assignment. The few tags I do see are directly related to the article written or linked. People over tag all the time, I think mostly in jest, but it’s done so much I think it may have lost all humor.

